As a leading company for exhibition design and media
technology, 235 MEDIA unites an interdisciplinary team
with a highly efficient infrastructure.

235 Media established

Directors

Team

We develop and implement projects for:

Companies, institutions, museums, trade shows, presentations.

Our customers come from:

Industry, art, culture

Our mission:

Designing and realising technically sophisticated interactive media productions with complex editorial content.

Our slogan:

towards an aesthetic of communication

Our company headquarters in Cologne is spread over two buildings:

Building 1: Am Kölner Brett 6
Project management, technical management, art direction, design, graphics, text and editorial, administration

Building 2: Am Kölner Brett 1
Technical planning, technical staff, IT management and support, electronic laboratory, programming, video editing, showroom, screening room for large format media installations.

Dedication to media art

235 MEDIA has been involved with the presentation of video art since its founding in 1982, and has, as an agency, represented more than 100 media artists from 15 countries, with over 800 video works and countless interactive and computer controlled artworks and installations around Europe. Furthermore, 235 MEDIA has established an extensive archive with over 3,000 works, which are gradually being digitalised, restored and made accessible to the public. In 2002, in cooperation with the city of Dusseldorf and the state of North-Rhine Westphalia, as well as the state’s Art Foundation, the charitable trust imai – or intermedia art institute – was set up, to manage the conservation and the scientific maintenance of the archive and to oversee distribution.

Alongside its role in the presentation of video and media art, 235 MEDIA has been focused for more than 20 years on projects that thematise the status of media art within society and its relationship to other art forms.

The spectrum of activities in the field of media art ranges from the organisation of exhibitions and special programs for festivals and museums, to lectures and large scale projects. These include the Electronic Café at the documenta 9 and the Biennale di Venezia, the series of media art exhibits in the Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany in Bonn, and the artistic direction of the vision.ruhr exhibition in Dortmund.

Further information: www.imaionline.de

Als ein führendes Unternehmen für Ausstellungsgestaltung und
Medientechnologie vereint 235 MEDIA ein interdisziplinäres
Team mit einer leistungsstarken Infrastruktur.

235 Media gegründet

Geschäftsführer

Team

Wir entwickeln und realisieren Projekte für:

Firmen, Institutionen, Museen, Messen, Präsentationen

Unsere Kunden stammen aus:

Industrie, Kunst, Kultur

Unsere Mission:

Konzeption und Realisation technisch und inhaltlich komplexer medialer und
interaktiver Inszenierungen

Unser Slogan:

towards an aesthetic of communication

Der Firmensitz Am Kölner Brett besteht aus zwei Gebäuden:

Gebäude 1: Am Kölner Brett 6
Projektmanagement, technisches Management, Art Direction, Design, Grafik, Text und Redaktion, Verwaltung

Gebäude 2: Am Kölner Brett 1
Technische Disposition, technische Mitarbeiter, IT-Management und Support, Elektronik-Labor, Programmierung, Videobearbeitung, Showroom, Vorführräume für großformatige Medieninstallationen

Engagement für Medienkunst

235 MEDIA beschäftigt sich seit der Gründung im Jahr 1982 mit der Vermittlung von Medienkunst und hat als Agentur mehr als 100 Medienkünstler aus 15 Ländern mit mehr als 800 Video-Arbeiten und zahlreichen interaktiven und computergesteuerten Kunstwerken und Installationen im europäischen Raum vertreten. Darüber hinaus hat 235 MEDIA ein umfassendes Archiv mit über 3000 Arbeiten aufgebaut, die nach und nach digitalisiert, restauriert und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht wurden. Im Jahr 2006 wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt Düsseldorf und dem Land NRW sowie der Kunststiftung NRW die gemeinnützige Stiftung imai, intermedia art institute, gegründet, die das Archiv konservatorisch betreut und wissenschaftlich aufarbeitet sowie den Vertrieb weiterführt.

Neben dieser Vermittlungstätigkeit im Bereich der Video- und Medienkunst konzentrierten sich die Aktivitäten von 235 MEDIA mehr als 20 Jahre lang auf Projekte, die die Stellung der Medienkunst innerhalb der Gesellschaft und die Verbindung zu den anderen Künsten thematisierten.

Die Bandbreite der Aktivitäten im Bereich der Medienkunst reichte von der Organisation von Ausstellungen und Spezialprogrammen für Festivals und Museen über Vorträge bis hin zu Großprojekten wie dem Electronic Café auf der documenta 9 und der Biennale di Venezia, der Medienkunst-Ausstellungsreihe in der Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Bonn oder der künstlerischen Leitung der Ausstellung vision.ruhr in Dortmund.

Weiterführende Informationen: www.stiftung-imai.de