Michael Petry

The Chemistry of Love

meta-services

Services

CLIENT: Art and Exhibitions Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany
1994

THE CHEMISTRY OF LOVE explores common and opposed factors in the chemical composition of the human body and the “chemistry” of inter-human relations.

In THE CHEMISTRY OF LOVE, several “specialists” describe the difference between the physical and emotional characteristics of an ideal relationship. These explanations are interrupted by Petry with scientific explanations about the chemistry of the body. The video interviews in German and English can be seen on eleven monitors that are integrated into a bigger spatial installation.

Michael Petry understands this installation as a metaphor of the human body. It consists of 121 laboratory glass receptacles of different sizes, suspended from the ceiling in 11 rows of 11 receptacles each. Each tube contains one of the 11 most important chemical elements that compose the human body.

The attempt at a total analysis of the human existence competes with the sensual experience that is constantly changing and cannot be defined. Out of this tension, an instability of the world is created that will always call for new combinations and their solution. Nothing stays the way it is.

Related Projects

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Heaven above, heaven below

Research project

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola

Michael Petry

The Chemistry of Love

Metaleistungen

Leistungen

KUNDE: Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
1994

THE CHEMISTRY OF LOVE erforscht die Gemeinsamkeiten und Widersprüche zwischen der chemischen Zusammensetzung des menschlichen Körpers und der „Chemie“ der zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen.

In THE CHEMISTRY OF LOVE kommen eine Reihe von „Fachleuten“ zu Wort, die den Unterschied zwischen den physischen und emotionalen Eigenschaften einer idealen Beziehung beschreiben. Diese Erklärungen werden von Petry durch wissenschaftliche Ausführungen über die Chemie des Körpers unterbrochen. Die in deutsch und englisch gehaltenen Videointerviews sind auf elf Monitoren zu sehen, die in eine größere Rauminstallation integriert sind.

Michael Petry versteht diese Rauminstallation als Metapher des menschlichen Körpers. Sie besteht aus 121 Laborglasbehältern unterschiedlicher Größe, die in 11 Reihen zu je 11 Gefäßen von der Decke hängen. Jeder Tubus enthält eines der 11 wichtigsten chemischen Elemente, aus denen sich der menschliche Körper zusammensetzt.

Der Versuch einer totalen Analyse des menschlichen Seins konkurriert mit der sinnlichen Erfahrung, die sich stets verändert und nicht zu definieren ist. Aus dieser Spannung entsteht eine Instabilität der Welt, die immer neuer Kombinationen und derer Auflösung bedarf. Nichts bleibt wie es ist.

Verwandte Projekte

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Himmel oben, Himmel unten

Forschungsprojekt

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola