Nan Hoover

Movement from Either Direction

meta-services

Services

CLIENT: Art and Exhibitions Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany
1995

In her video installation MOVEMENT FROM EITHER DIRECTION, Nan Hoover creates a new space within the exhibition space. The geometrical outlines seem to have moved, the walls seem out of place. Already from the entrance, the view is caught by the opposite corner of the installation where the shadow of an oversized figure moves from right to left. After entering, one realizes that the room is empty and that theres is nothing to cast the previously seen shadow. This fiction, set up by the artist via video projection, is surprising. And Nan Hoover uses this moment of disorientation to abduct us into a world of shadows where the white and blue light projections transform the visitor into a shadow himself, making him part of the installation, causing him to interact.

In MOVEMENT FROM EITHER DIRECTION, the trained painter and drawer Nan Hoover deals again with her central subject, the human body by both letting it act in space and presenting it in a transcendent way through light and shadow. She play on the overwhelming, on strangeness and oversize—which we fear and yet instinctively expect when entering a dark room.

MOVEMENT FROM EITHER DIRECTION continues the happenings, performances and installations with light and video projections that Nan Hoover has continuously developed since the 1970ies. Almost all of her video works are abstract and challenge us to deal with speed, time and movement. They explore the fear of the imaginary and play with fiction and reality.

Nan Hoover describes her work as interactive, because the installation only becomes what it is supposed to be by the presence of the moving viewers and their wandering shadows. By the visitor?s actions, the spaces is filled with ever new variations of light and shadow. This continuous change of the installation is interactive in the classic sense—in contrast to many computer-based installations that are nothing but multiple-choice programmes. In the lightscape so created, both real and virtual shadows meet just as the imaginary meets with the visitor’s physical presence. While one of the shadows grows out of the absence of light, the other appears due to the projected light of a video projector.

“I am part of the darkness that gave birth to light” Mephistopheles, Faust

Related Projects

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Heaven above, heaven below

Research project

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola

Nan Hoover

Movement from Either Direction

Metaleistungen

Leistungen

KUNDE: Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
1995

In ihrer Videoinstallation MOVEMENT FROM EITHER DIRECTION hat Nan Hoover innerhalb des Ausstellungsraums einen neuen Raum geschaffen. Die geometrischen Konturen scheinen verschoben, die Wände verrückt worden zu sein. Bereits vom Eingang aus fällt der Blick auf die gegenüberliegende Ecke der Installation, in der sich der Schatten einer übergroßen Gestalt von rechts nach links bewegt. Nach dem Eintreten stellt man jedoch fest, dass der Raum leer und kein Grund für diesen Schatten erkennbar ist. Diese Fiktion, von der Künstlerin mit Hilfe einer Videoprojektion in Szene gesetzt, überrascht. Und diesen Moment der Desorientierung nutzt Nan Hoover, um uns in eine Schattenwelt zu entführen, in der der Besucher durch weiße und blaue Lichtprojektionen selbst zum Schatten und so zum Teil der Installation wird und mit ihr zu interagieren beginnt.

Die ausgebildete Malerin und Zeichnerin Nan Hoover bearbeitet auch in MOVEMENT FROM EITHER DIRECTION ihr zentrales Thema: Den menschlichen Körper, den sie sowohl real im Raum agieren lässt, als auch durch Licht und Schatten transzendiert darstellt. Sie thematisiert die Fantasien des Übermächtigen, des Fremden und des Übergroßen, vor denen wir uns fürchten und die wir zugleich instinktiv beim Eintreten in einen dunklen Raum erwarten.

MOVEMENT FROM EITHER DIRECTION knüpft an die Aktionen, Performances und Installationen mit Licht- und Videoprojektionen an, die Nan Hoover seit den 70er Jahren kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt hat. Fast alle Videoarbeiten der Künstlerin sind abstrakt und fordern unsere Auseinandersetzung mit Geschwindigkeit, Zeit und Bewegung. Sie erforschen die Furcht vor dem Imaginären und spielen mit Fiktion und Realität.

Nan Hoover beschreibt ihre Arbeit als interaktiv, denn erst durch die Präsenz der sich bewegenden Betrachter und ihre wandernden Schatten wird die Installation zu dem, was sie sein soll. Durch das Agieren der Besucher wird der Raum in immer neue Varianten aus Licht und Schatten getaucht. Diese kontinuierliche Veränderung der Installation ist im klassischen Sinne interaktiv, ganz im Gegensatz zu vielen computergesteuert Installationen, die letztlich nichts anderes als Multiple-Choice-Programme darstellen. In der entstehenden Lichtlandschaft treffen realer und virtueller Schatten aufeinander, so wie das Imaginäre auf die körperliche Präsenz des Besuchers trifft. Während der eine Schattenwurf aus dem Fehlen des Lichts erwächst, so geht er im anderen Fall auf das projizierte Licht eines Videoprojektors zurück.

„Ich bin ein Teil der Finsternis, die sich Licht gebar“ Mephistopheles, Faust

Verwandte Projekte

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Himmel oben, Himmel unten

Forschungsprojekt

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola