Gary Hill

Circular Breathing

meta-services

Services

CLIENT: ART AND EXHIBITIONS HALL OF THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY

1996

In his installation CIRCULAR BREATHING, Gary Hill combines five detail shots with five fragments into seven chapters.

The pictures move along the wall in mathematically structured sequences. The more pictures are visible on the five projection surfaces, the more the speed of upcoming pictures decreases, going into slow motion before coming to a standstill. The picture sequences and the synchronous sound blend and separate at the same time, suggesting elements of a story and forming intuitive allegories without coming into a linear narrative structure.

In the context of the works about perception, consciousness and communication CIRCULAR BREATHING is Gary Hill’s most outstanding work. The title refers to a special technique of breathing as practised when playing wind instruments and in Chinese Tai-Chi. CIRCULAR BREATHING symbolizes the process of perception in memory and is an exercise of renouncing a meaning. Pre-structured chapters like “Strassenszene” (Street Scene), “Baustelle” (Building Site) or “Klavierspiel” (Piano Play) encourage the perception to formulate a structure of narration. But in the race with the disappearance of the fragments of pictures and sound, the attempt of a linear narration dries up. The continuity of seeing meets with the instability of the flickering images and the discontinuity of the narrative technique.

Following the rhythm of the images, the eye has to breathe, between a fade-in on the leftand a fade-out on the right hand side. The appearing and disappearing of the images and sounds corresponds to the process of remembering and forgetting. The images show up as if emerging from a stream of lost recollections just to disappear again into oblivion.

Related Projects

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

REMOTEWORDS.32

Heaven above, heaven below

Research project

Vision Ruhr

Doug Hall

Andres Bosshard

Grahame Weinbren, Tunnel

Jeffrey Shaw

Gary Hill

Circular Breathing

Metaleistungen

Leistungen

KUNDE: KUNST- UND AUSSTELLUNGSHALLE DER BUNDESREPUBLIK DEUTSCHLAND
1996

Gary Hill kombiniert in seiner Installation CIRCULAR BREATHING fünf Detailaufnahmen mit fünf Fragmenten zu sieben Kapiteln.

Die Bilder bewegen sich in mathematisch strukturierten Sequenzen über die Wand; je mehr Bilder auf den fünf Projektionsflächen zu sehen sind, desto mehr verlangsamt sich die Bildgeschwindigkeit, sie wird zur Zeitlupe, um dann in ein nahezu stehendes Bild überzugehen. Die Bildsequenzen und der synchrone Ton verschmelzen und separieren sich zugleich, suggerieren Elemente einer Geschichte, bilden intuitive Allegorien, ohne jedoch zu einer linearen Erzählstruktur zu gelangen.

Im Kontext der Arbeiten über Wahrnehmung, Bewusstsein und Kommunikation ist CIRCULAR BREATHING die herausragende Arbeit Gary Hills. Der Titel verweist auf eine spezielle Atemtechnik, wie sie beim Spiel von Blasinstrumenten und im chinesischen Tai-Chi praktiziert wird. CIRCULAR BREATHÍNG symbolisiert den Wahrnehmungsvorgang im Gedächtnis und ist eine Einübung in den Verzicht auf Bedeutung. Vorstrukturierte Kapitel wie „Straßenszene“, „Baustelle“ oder „Klavierspiel“ animieren die Wahrnehmung, eine Erzählstruktur zu formulieren. Doch im Wettlauf mit dem Verschwinden der Bild-Ton-Fragmente versiegt der lineare Erzählversuch. Die Kontinuität des Sehens trifft auf die Instabilität der flackernden Bilder und die Diskontinuität der Erzähltechnik.

Dem Bilderrhythmus folgend muss das Auge im Installationsraum ein- und ausatmen, zwischen Aufblende auf der linken Seite und Abblende auf der rechten Seite. Das Auftauchen und Verschwinden der Bilder und Geräusche entspricht dabei dem Vorgang des Erinnerns und Vergessens. Die Bilder tauchen wie aus einem Strom des Vergessens auf und verschwinden wieder in ihm.

Verwandte Projekte

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

REMOTEWORDS.32

Himmel oben, Himmel unten

Forschungsprojekt

Vision Ruhr

Doug Hall

Andres Bosshard

Grahame Weinbren, Tunnel

Jeffrey Shaw