Bill Seaman

Passages combinations

meta-services

Services

CLIENT: Art and Exhibitions Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany
SEPTEMBER til NOVEMBER 1996

The interactive installation is based upon audiovisual and textual compositions dealing with travel, motion, and sensuality.

Within the exhibition space, one side of about nine metres is covered with projections from three video beamers. This view into a virtual world presents itself as a menu system that can be controlled via a trackball, video disc player and computer and allows embarking on a poetical journey around the globe.

A complex system of short haiku poems that can be constructed in ever new variations forms the basis. Each haiku is associatively connected to video sequences and music composed by Seaman that are played back in parallel—a poetical discourse about love, sexuality and sensuality in a global networked society.

In addition to the interactive use by the audience, an autonomous poetry generator constructs further haikus that are projected by one of the three beamers. Here, artificial intelligence and the displacement of language are being addressed.

The conceptual superposition of the projected spaces defines a flowing imaginary space open for the viewers/participants and constructs new kinds of hybrid locations with the help of the latest technologies.

Related Projects

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Heaven above, heaven below

Research project

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola

Bill Seaman

Passagen Kombinationen

Metaleistungen

Leistungen

KUNDE: Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
SEPTEMBER bis NOVEMBER 1996

Die interaktive Installation basiert auf sprachlichen und audiovisuellen Kompositionen, die sich mit Reise, Bewegung und Sinnlichkeit auseinandersetzen.

Innerhalb des Ausstellungsraums wird eine Seite auf ca. 9 m Breite mit drei Videoprojektoren bespielt. Dieser Ausblick in eine virtuelle Welt präsentiert sich als steuerbares Menü-System, mit dem man, unterstützt durch einen Trackball, Bildplattenspieler und Computer, eine poetische Reise um den Globus antreten kann.

Die Basis bildet ein komplexes System von Kurzgedichten (Haikus), die in immer neuen Varianten konstruiert werden können. Die einzelnen Haikus stehen wiederum in assoziativer Verkettung mit Videosequenzen und werden von Seamans komponierter Musik, die parallel eingespielt wird, untermalt. Ein poetischer Diskurs über Liebe, Sexualität und Sinnlichkeit in einer global vernetzten Gesellschaft.

Neben dem interaktiven Gebrauch durch das Publikum konstruiert ein autonomer Gedicht-Generator pausenlos weitere Haikus, die von einem der drei Projektoren projiziert werden. Künstliche Intelligenz und die Deplatzierung von Sprache werden hier thematisiert.

Die konzeptionelle Überlagerung der projizierten Räume definiert einen fließenden, gedanklichen Freiraum für den Betrachter Akteur und konstruiert mit Hilfe modernster Technik neue Arten hybrider Orte. Passage Sets ist eine poetische Reflexion potentiell zukünftiger, sinnlicher Kommunikation.

Verwandte Projekte

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Himmel oben, Himmel unten

Forschungsprojekt

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola