Masaki Fujihata

Global Interior Project

meta-services

Services

CLIENT: Art and Exhibitions Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany
SEPTEMBER til NOVEMBER 1997

The interface between real and virtual space is formed by four cubes with one window each through which the virtual space can be explored.

Masaki Fujihata chose 18 symbols as allegories for the world that are visible as iconic representatives in one of the virtual spaces only. Furthermore, the installation is complemented by a sculpture consisting of 18 boxes containing each one figure that thematically matches one of the symbols.

As soon as someone acts at one of the cubes and finds him- or herself in one of the virtual spaces, a door opens at the sculpture and releases the figure matching the space accessed. One of the cubes is placed next to the sculpture, allowing to observe at the sculpture in which virtual rooms there are other participants, and to get in touch with them.

The installation is the exemplary attempt to realize communicational design with modern technology and to experience new possibilities of cultural exchange. GLOBAL INTERIOR PROJECT mediates an understanding of the meta-structures of electronic communication networks and their interfaces between real and virtual spaces.

Related Projects

Gudrun Barenbrock

Bill Viola

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Heaven above, heaven below

Research project

Masaki Fujihata

Global Interior Project

Metaleistungen

Leistungen

KUNDE: Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
SEPTEMBER bis NOVEMBER 1997

GLOBAL INTERIOR PROJECT ist ein virtuelles Environment, das gleichzeitig von mehreren Personen besucht werden kann.

Die Schnittstellen zwischen realem und virtuellem Raum bilden vier Kuben mit jeweils einem Fenster, durch das die virtuellen Räume erforscht werden können. Masaki Fujihata hat 18 Symbole als Allegorien für „Welt“ bestimmt, die als ikonische Repräsentanten in jeweils einem der virtuellen Räume zu sehen sind. Zudem gehört zur Installation eine Skulptur, bestehend aus 18 Kästen mit jeweils einer Figur, die thematisch einem der Symbole entspricht.

Sobald jemand an einem Kubus agiert und sich in einem der virtuellen Räume befindet, öffnet sich eine Tür an der Skulptur und gibt die diesem virtuellen Raum zugeordnete Figur frei. Da sich einer der Kuben neben der Skulptur befindet, ist es möglich, an der Skulptur zu beobachten, in welchen virtuellen Räumen sich andere Mitspieler gerade aufhalten und Kontakt mit ihnen aufzunehmen.

Die Installation ist der exemplarische Versuch, Kommunikationsdesign mit aktueller Technik zu realisieren und neue Möglichkeiten des kulturellen Austauschs zu erleben. GLOBAL INTERIOR PROJECT vermittelt eine Vorstellung von den Metastrukturen der elektronischen Kommunikationsnetze und ihrer Schnittstellen zwischen realen und virtuellen Räumen.

Verwandte Projekte

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Himmel oben, Himmel unten

Forschungsprojekt

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola