Masaki Fujihata

Beyond Pages

meta-services

Services

CLIENT: Art and Exhibitions Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany
SEPTEMBER til NOVEMBER 1997

Masaki Fujihata calls many of his works “experiments”. To him, BEYOND PAGES is a piece of art. This is among others due to the well-defined framework conditions that—contrary to many of his other works—are not designed as an open process.

The viewer finds a situation that is invitingly oriented towards the moment of reception. The book as a bearer of information and a means of memory is, to Fujihata, important for the culture of writing and for the learning of linear reading. His interest in testing and using multimedia technologies allows him to question the qualities and limits of this medium. The book as an interface still simulates the leafing through pages; however, the limitations
induced by the two-dimensionality of the surface and the rigidness of the characters is overcome in an elegant manner.

Fujihata introduces moments of surprise the effects of which lie consequently in an extension of the usual quiet and silent existence of an illustrated text. Three-dimensional and animated elements appear on the pages, the pulse-giving gesture is linked to acoustic signals.

With BEYOND PAGES, Fujihata refers to the potential of technology and to the task of designing out of concentration and interest with fantasy what is appreciated as the content.

Related Projects

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Heaven above, heaven below

Research project

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola

Masaki Fujihata

Beyond Pages

Metaleistungen

Leistungen

KUNDE: Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
SEPTEMBER bis NOVEMBER 1997

Viele seiner Arbeiten bezeichnet Masaki Fujihata als Experiment. BEYOND PAGES ist für ihn ein Kunstwerk. Das liegt unter anderem an genau definierten Rahmenbedingungen, die, anders als bei vielen seiner Arbeiten, nicht als offener Prozess geplant sind.

Der Betrachter findet eine Situation vor, die einladend auf den Moment der Rezeption hin angelegt ist. Das Buch als Informationsträger und Speichermedium ist für Fujihata als Symbol für Schriftkultur und die Einübung einer linearen Leseform von Bedeutung. Sein Interesse an der Erprobung und am Einsatz multimedialer Technologien lässt ihn die Qualitäten und Grenzen dieses Mediums hinterfragen. Das Buch simultiert als Interface noch den Vorgang des
Blätterns, die Begrenzung durch die Zweidimensionalität der Fläche aber und die Starre der Zeichen wird elegant überschritten.

Fujihata führt Überraschungsmomente ein, deren Wirkungen konsequent in der Erweiterung der gewohnten ruhigen und stillen Daseinsform des illustrierten Textes liegen. Auf den Blattflächen erscheinen dreidimensionale und bewegte
Elemente, die impulsgebende Geste wird an akustischen Signalen gekoppelt.

Mit BEYOND PAGES verweist Fujihata auf das Potential der Technologie und die Aufgabe, mit Fantasie aus der Konzentration und der Neugierde heraus zu gestalten, was als Inhalt wert geschätzt wird.

Verwandte Projekte

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Himmel oben, Himmel unten

Forschungsprojekt

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola