George Legrady

Tracing

meta-services

Services

CLIENT: Art and Exhibitions Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany
DECEMBER 1997 til FEBRUARY 1998

TRACING is an installation examining the relation between the countryside and what seems to be the cultural centre. The exhibition room is separated in the middle by a 4m wide wall, on which you can see a video projection on each side.

George Legrady describes the two parts of the room as „two sides of a coin“, as heads or tails, as pitch-penny, as a decision to be taken. The element connection this metaphor is a letter in which a man from Eastern Europe complains that his Western friend doesn’t answer and obviously has no interest in the friendship anymore. The letter seems to glide to and fro through the wall, presenting itself in connected passages on one side while being visible on the other only whenever certain passages are actively clicked on with the mouse.

In the front part of the room, the movements of the visitors are registered via sensors, which triggers the picking of selected fragments from the linear text via computer control. Those text passages are connected to specific video sequences that are projected onto the rear of the wall. There, Legrady confronts us with atmospheric pictures from Eastern Europe; with views of squares, front doors and interiors as well as with private impressions.

Additionally, in the rear part of the room you can read selected passages of the letter with the help of a computer mouse, which in turn activates the video sequences. Thus, te selection of the video images and text parts is a complex interaction between the movements in the front part of the room and the active selection of text passages by the computer mouse.

Related Projects

Bill Viola

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Heaven above, heaven below

Research project

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

George Legrady

Tracing

Metaleistungen

Leistungen

KUNDE: Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
DEZEMBER 1997 bis FEBRUAR 1998

TRACING ist eine Installation, die das Verhältnis zwischen Provinz und scheinbarem kulturellem Zentrum untersucht. Der Ausstellungsraum ist in der Mitte durch eine ca. 4m breite Mauer getrennt, auf der von jeder Seite eine Videoprojektion zu sehen ist.

George Legrady bezeichnet die beiden Raumteile als „zwei Seiten einer Medaille“, als Kopf oder Zahl, als eine Entscheidung, die zu treffen ist. Das verbindende Element dieser Metapher ist ein Brief, in dem sich ein Mann aus Osteuropa darüber beklagt, dass der Freund aus dem Westen nicht mehr antwortet und scheinbar kein Interesse mehr an der Freundschaft hat. Dieser Brief scheint durch die Mauer hin und her zu fließen und zeigt sich auf der einen Seite in zusammenhängenden Versatzstücken und auf der anderen Seite lediglich, wenn man einzelne Passagen bewusst mit der Maus anklickt.

Im vorderen Teil des Raums werden die Bewegungen der Besucher durch Sensoren erfasst, wodurch über eine Computersteuerung Fragmente aus dem linearen Text herausgegriffen werden. Diesen Textpassagen sind jeweils spezifische Videosequenzen zugeordnet, die auf die rückwärtige Mauerseite projiziert werden. Hier konfrontiert uns Legrady mit atmosphärischen Bildern aus Osteuropa, mit Ansichten von Plätzen, Hauseingängen und Innenräumen, sowie mit privaten Eindrücken.

Im hinteren Teil des Raumes können Sie zudem mit Hilfe einer Computermaus einzelne Passagen des Briefes einlesen, wodurch die Videosequenzen aktiviert werden. Die Auswahl der Videobilder und der Textteile ist also eine komplexe Interaktion zwischen den Bewegungen im vorderen Raum und einer bewussten Auswahl der Textpassagen mit Hilfe der Computermaus.

Verwandte Projekte

Marina Abramovic

HAEGUE YANG

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Himmel oben, Himmel unten

Forschungsprojekt

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola