Agnes Hegedüs

Between the Words

meta-services

Services

CLIENT: Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany
1995

The interactive installation BETWEEN THE WORDS is designed for two performers and is based on the artist’s earlier telecommunication works.

A wall in the room separates the actors but allows a look through a semi-transparent window onto computer-generated hands and the person standing opposite. Through joysticks, each actor can now design and control virtual hand gestures, which not only allows for non-verbal communication but makes it necessary as the only means to communicate.

The possibility of computer-based interaction with the piece of art is one of the few really new dimensions in the arts. Agnes Hegedüs designs scenarios of this interaction and invents new interface techniques. Her artistic work ranges in the area of tension of game and art. She deliberately takes on the challenge of employing computer and joysticks in order to convey both artistic contents and contexts. On one hand, she uses the rules of the game, just to give it a completely different meaning on the other—all in the sense of a ready-made à la Duchamp.

The visitor does not interact within the installation to win or to have fun: rather, the game structure becomes a metaphor that questions our expectations and judgemental criteria of works of art. Simultaneously, BETWEEN THE WORDS explores our capability of a non-verbal communication.

BETWEEN THE WORDS is a co-production of the Art and Exhibitions Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany in Bonn and of the „Ars Electronica“ in Linz.

Related Projects

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Heaven above, heaven below

Research project

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola

Kunstmuseum Bonn

Agnes Hegedüs

Between the Words

Metaleistungen

Leistungen

KUNDE: Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
1995

Die für zwei Akteure gestaltete interaktive Installation BETWEEN THE WORDS baut auf den früheren telekommunikativen Arbeiten der Künstlerin auf.

Eine Mauer im Raum trennt die Akteure, erlaubt aber an einer rechteckigen Aussparung den Blick durch eine semitransparente Glasscheibe auf computergenerierte Hände und die gegenüberstehende Person. Mit Hilfe zweier Joysticks kann nun jeder Akteur virtuelle Handgesten gestalten und steuern, wodurch eine wortlose Kommunikation nicht nur möglich, sondern als einzige Verständigungsform auch notwendig wird.

Die Möglichkeit der computerunterstützten Interaktion mit dem Kunstwerk ist eine der wenigen wirklich neuen Dimensionen in der Kunst. Agnes Hegedüs entwirft Szenarien dieser Interaktion und erfindet neue Interface-Techniken. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit bewegt sich im Spannungsfeld von Spiel und Kunst. Ganz bewusst stellt sie sich dabei der Herausforderung, Computer und Joysticks als Spielzeug einzusetzen, um damit die Rezeptionsstrukturen und die Faszination des Computerspiels zur Vermittlung von künstlerischen Inhalten und Zusammenhängen zu benutzen. Sie verwendet einerseits die Regeln des Spiels, um ihm andererseits eine völlig verwandelte Bedeutung zu geben, ganz im Sinne eines Ready-made à la Duchamp.

Der Besucher interagiert nicht in der Installation, um zu gewinnen oder seinen Spaß zu haben; vielmehr wird die Struktur des Spiels zur Metapher, die unsere Erwartungshaltungen und Beurteilungskriterien gegenüber Kunstwerken in Frage stellt. Zugleich erforscht BETWEEN THE WORDS unsere Fähigkeit zu einer nonverbalen Kommunikation.

BETWEEN THE WORDS ist eine Co-Produktion der Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Bonn und der „Ars Electronica“ in Linz.

Verwandte Projekte

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Himmel oben, Himmel unten

Forschungsprojekt

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola

Kunstmuseum Bonn

Bill Viola