Jean-Louis Boissier, Seconde Promenade

Art and Exhibitions Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany

meta-services

Services

CLIENT: Art and Exhibitions Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany
DEZEMBER 1998

Boissier’s installation SECONDE PROMENADE, exhibited at the Art and Exhibitions Hall of the German Federal Republic between December 3, 1998 and February 2, 1999, combines different media: Pictures, sounds, music, videos and computer-based text. This hypertext is closely related to Rousseau’s original work “Seconde Promenade”

By means of simple interaction with the artwork, visitors can read Rousseau’s text in all sorts of variations. Furthermore, the installation refers to the Rousseau’s complete literary and philosophical work as well as describing the results of the research conducted. This piece of media art is essayistic on one hand; on the other, Boissier describes autobiographical aspects of Rousseau‘s life and work.

“Seconde Promenade” is a central part of Jean-Jacques Rousseau’s (1670-1712) text “Rèveries du promeneur solitaire” (Monologues of a lonely walker). This text is a counterpart to the stories about the flowers of the island of Saint Pierre that served as foundation for Boissiers earlier installation “Flora petrinsularis”. The stories describe the moment in which Rousseau decided never to write again, only to start his work on “Confessions” at the same time.

“Seconde Promenade” stands for a moment of rebirth: Rousseau is spending an afternoon walking, collecting plants in the autumn landscape on the hills of Ménilmontan. Absorbed in his own thoughts, he remembers wonderful moments of his life. Suddenly, he is attacked by a dog, loses his consciousness and only slowly regains it. This experience is what he describes in the “Monologues of a lonely walker”.

The aesthetic power and the conceptional quality of SECONDE PROMENADE consists in finding a new language for the audio-visual media particularly on the interactive level, following both the literary and the cinematographic tradition.

Related Projects

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Heaven above, heaven below

Research project

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola

Kunstmuseum Bonn

Jean-Louis Boissier, Seconde Promenade

Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Metaleistungen

Leistungen

KUNDE: Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
DECEMBER 1998

Boissiers Installation SECONDE PROMENADE, vom 3.12.1998 bis zum 7.2.1999 in der Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland ausgestellt, verbindet verschiedene Medien miteinander: Bilder, Töne, Musik, Videos und einen Text auf Computerbasis. Dieser Hypertext steht in enger Beziehung zu Rousseaus Originalwerk „Seconde Promenade“.

Mittels einfacher Interaktion mit dem Kunstwerk kann der Besucher Rousseaus Texte in den verschiedensten Varianten lesen. Die Installation bezieht sich dabei ebenso auf das komplette literarische wie auch auf das philosophische Werk Rousseaus und beschreibt die hierüber gewonnenen Forschungsergebnisse. Das Medienkunstwerk ist einerseits essayistisch, andererseits beschreibt Boissier autobiographische Aspekte der Arbeit und des Lebens von Rousseau.

„Seconde Promenade“ ist zentraler Bestandteil eines Textes von Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1670-1712): „Rêveries du promeneur solitaire“ (hg. 1782; dt. „Selbstgespräche auf einsamen Spaziergängen“). Dieser Text bildet das Gegenstück zu den Geschichten über die Blumen der Insel von Saint Pierre, die als Grundlagen zu der früheren Installation von Boissiers „Flora Petrinsularis“ dienten. Die Erzählungen schildern den Moment, in dem Rousseau den Beschluss fasst, nie wieder zu schreiben, um gleichzeitig die Arbeit an „Confessions“ in Angriff zu nehmen.

„Seconde Promenade“ steht für den Moment der zweiten Geburt: Rousseau verbrachte einen Nachmittag mit einem Spaziergang, er sammelte Pflanzen in herbstlicher Landschaft in den Hügeln von Ménilmontan. Ganz in sich versunken, erinnerte er sich an wundervolle Momente in seinem Leben. Plötzlich wurde er von einem Hund angefallen, verlor das Bewusstsein und kam erst nach und nach wieder zu Besinnung. In seinem Werk „Selbstgespräche auf einsamen Spaziergängen“ beschreibt er dieses Erlebnis.

Die ästhetische Kraft und die konzeptionelle Qualität von SECONDE PROMENADE bestehen darin, speziell auf der interaktiven Ebene eine neue Sprache für die audiovisuellen Medien zu finden, die sowohl der literarischen als auch der kinematographischen Tradition folgt.

Verwandte Projekte

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

Bill Viola

REMOTEWORDS.32

Himmel oben, Himmel unten

Forschungsprojekt

Werner Herzog & Hercules Segers

Bill Viola

Kunstmuseum Bonn

Bill Viola